Notifications
Clear all

Volume renamed

(@ruzek)
Eminent Member

Hi there,

I recently migrated to a MacBook Pro w/ M1 Max, and was already using the SoftRaid 6.2 prior to that. Looking at my disk, `Data` has been renamed to `Data 1` and I can't seem to change it back. Backblaze needs the original name so it can backup to the cloud, so I am getting an error message. How can I change it back? MacOS says the volume is in use when I try changing it.

Another peculiarity is in the GUI it doesn't show which disks either RAID is associated with anymore.

Please see these screenshots:

Thanks!

Quote
Topic starter Posted : 02/11/2021 9:27 am
Topic Tags
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

Make sure SoftRAID is in System Preferences/Security/Privacy/Full Disk Access. Otherwise the app cannot access the raw disk data. That is why the Apple icons also.

to the mount issue, this macOS bug has been around for 15 years.

here are a couple options, the "official" Apple support option is older, the Finder method seems to work on newer OS's.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203258

Modern solution, from a Mac Rumors thread:

Finder menu bar/GO/Go to folder...
Type and go:
/Volumes/Name of the drive that's giving you trouble.
Go up one level... you will be in the Volumes folder and you will see your drive, and next to it a folder of the drive with the extra digit on the name.

 

ReplyQuote
Posted : 02/11/2021 11:15 am
(@ruzek)
Eminent Member

I also noticed that the icon for my RAID also shows as a default HD icon for macOS, and not a SoftRaid icon (grey box with blue circle) in the SoftRaid GUI. 

I've attached a log in case that helps.

 

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 02/11/2021 11:17 am
(@ruzek)
Eminent Member

Thanks, I didn't see your reply. 

I was able to grant full disk access, though the Mac Rumours solution didn't work. It shows in Finder as `Data` but the mount point is still `Data 1`, as shown here: https://d.pr/i/ajqSMZ/FFCpRYOTkK

I'm hesitant to follow the Apple support article because I don't want to lose any data. This sentence worries me:

Once you have all of the data from the "false" mount point copied back into the volume where it should reside, you can delete the folder "FalseVolumeName" from the boot volume.

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 02/11/2021 11:31 am
(@ruzek)
Eminent Member

Geez, I'm blind as a bat. Google Drive created a `Data` folder in Volumes. The Google Drive folder is stored on Data, so hopefully knowing this I can resolve the issue. Deleted the folder, though I might need to setup the app again. 

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 02/11/2021 11:36 am
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

@ruzek

Hopefully it works going forward. I note that the mac rumors thread also had google drive as the cause.

 

I do not think you have SoftRAID granted Full Disk access in System preferences/Security/Privacy/Full Disk Access

ReplyQuote
Posted : 02/11/2021 11:55 am
(@ruzek)
Eminent Member

Hopefully it works going forward. I note that the mac rumors thread also had google drive as the cause.

Could you please share a link to the forum thread? 

I do not think you have SoftRAID granted Full Disk access in System preferences/Security/Privacy/Full Disk Access

I had sent my error log prior to seeing your full disk access reply. Sorry about the confusion!

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 02/11/2021 12:03 pm
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

@ruzek

This is the thread I saw the google drive reference:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/os-x-renaming-my-drive-changing-mount-point.460213/

I was also reading this thread, I think it was off a link on this page:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/spontaneous-duplicate-naming-for-network-volumes.814023/?post=8757079#post-8757079

ReplyQuote
Posted : 02/11/2021 12:24 pm
Share:
close
open