Notifications
Clear all

Stopping rebuild?

 SLeM
(@slem)
Eminent Member

I did a convert of an (empty) HFS+ volume to RAID1. The GUI automatically started rebuilding the indices, which takes a long time (and is useless for empty volumes considering that initializing a RAID1 only takes a few seconds.)

Question: an I abort the synchronization process?

I see that I can unmount the volume, and that if I do then the resync pauses, and starts again when I remount. But I cannot seem to stop the process, only pause it.

I would want to stop the process to delete the volume for any of a number of reasons, including the fact that creating an (empty) HFS+ system from scratch only takes about 10 seconds instead of proceeding at about 5 gigabytes per second (which would, for example, be more than 3 days for 1 terabyte.)

Quote
Topic starter Posted : 19/01/2021 2:46 am
Topic Tags
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

Utilities menu, "cancel". Or command dot. (you need to select the volume you are canceling the rebuild. It will resume about where it left off.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 19/01/2021 10:47 am
 SLeM
(@slem)
Eminent Member

Thanks, that worked.

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 19/01/2021 3:27 pm
 SLeM
(@slem)
Eminent Member

However, I once I had cancelled the rebuild, I was unable to delete the volume, not in the GUI and not in the command line. The command line would go through the motions, but at the end of the waiting period, the volume would still be there.

I ended up using the command line splitmirror to split off all of the pieces one by one, and then deleting the resulting volumes one by one using the command line tool. (Having to stop to unmount them each time, because every change to the partitions automatically remounts all of the volumes...). I also had to quit the GUI and re-enter it, as sometimes it does not pay attention to the fact that a volume is deleted at the command line.

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 19/01/2021 3:35 pm
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

@slem

True, the app does not know what happens at the command line, it was not designed for that.

If you unmounted the volume first, delete should work.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 19/01/2021 3:52 pm
 SLeM
(@slem)
Eminent Member

So far, the app has always noticed my creating volumes at the command line... just not always noticed deleting volumes.

I did unmount the volume before trying to delete it; I ended up having to go through the split / delete process I described.

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 19/01/2021 4:07 pm
Share:
close
open