Notifications
Clear all

Thunderbay 4 drives 'certified' prior to delivery?

(@m021478)
New Member

I just purchased my first Thunderbay 4 (TB3) that I'm using with my late 2021 16" M1 Macbook Pro. I've also never used SoftRAID before, so there's been a bit of a learning curve for me (albeit a relatively easy one).

The enclosure came with 4 drives pre-installed and it was 'supposedly' pre-configured as RAID 5. I say 'supposedly' because I wouldn't know... I struggled for a couple of hours last night with getting the array to mount, and when I wasn't able to get it to mount out of the box I used softRAID to initialize then create a new volume (which didn't work).

After a bit of digging, I figured out that the issue was simply that I needed to change the Security Policy of my OS to 'reduced security' (and all this other stuff). Once I had all that done, I was able to create a new RAID 5 array and get it mounted without any issues.

I then immediately started copying terrabytes and terrabytes of data to the array, and only then did I read the 'SoftRAID Best Practices' documentation in which is says that drives should be 'certified' by SoftRAID prior to using to ensure their reliability. Oops! I've got like 6TB of data on my array already and I'd rather not have to copy it all over again.

MY QUESTION IS: seeing as how the Thunderbay was initially sent to me with drives pre-installed and pre-configured as RAID 5, can I safely assume that whoever set all that up for me at OWC also certified the drives, and that I don't have to worry about doing it again?

 

Please advise. Thanks!

Quote
Topic starter Posted : 01/04/2022 11:21 am
(@softraid-support)
Member Admin

Yes, we certify all drives in pre-configured enclosures. You do not have to recertify, no.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 01/04/2022 11:24 am
m021478 liked
Share:
close
open